And the blessing continue!

¡Hola amigos y familia!

I can´t believe it´s already week three! The longer I´ve been here, the faster time seems to fly by. I hope everyone is doing just dandy.
So many things happen here at the CCM that I just can´t possibly fit all of it into one email. Seriously, we have 16 hour long days, everyday. And yet, I´m not sick of it all!
We went to the Mexico City Temple again today! It was a glorious experience. The temple is GIANT! We have to take escalators all the way to the top, but it´s so beautiful inside. I don´t know when we´ll be able to go again, but I´m so grateful for these few opportunities I´ve had!
Next week we´re going “solo español”, which means we´ll only be allowed to speak Spanish in class. It´s a little intimidating, but then I remember just how much I´ve learned since I´ve been here, and it makes me excited to try speaking only Spanish.
This week, Bonnie Oscarson, the Young Women General President, visited the CCM and gave a devotional! During dinner, I went up to her and got a hug. It was so cool! She´s seriously the nicest person ever, and I just loved the devotional she gave. One of the Elders from my district acutally got her autograph right afterwards and was totally fangirling about. One quote from her that I really liked was, “When we trust in the Lord´s plan, life will always work out.” It´s so true because Heavenly Father knows us better than we know ourselves, and he has so much in mind for us. He knows what our potential is and wants us to be happy.
This Sunday, Hermana Jensen and I are teaching Relief Society. We´re excited, buuuuuut we have no idea what we´re going to do! We have little to no time to really prepare a proper lesson, and our resources include 1. Preach My Gospel 2. The scriptures. 😅 Well, I guess that´s all we ever really need at the end of the day! We also have to prepare a talk everyweek for Sacrament, but the thing is, we don´t know if we´re actually going to be called on to speak until the meeting starts, and it´s entirely in Spanish. Last week I was called on to give the opening prayer, and I just about had a heartattack. Anyway, I don´t mind writing and giving a talk, it´s just a matter of finding the time to write and translate it.
So this week I drew two pictures of my teachers, Hermano Santiago and Hermano Tapia and gave them my drawings. They were so tickled pink by it! Hermano Santiago thought it was so cute and put his picture in his journal. 😂 Well, now the Elders in my district have discovered that I draw and some are requesting pictures now. I´m not sure I have the time, or desire, to draw them anything, but we´ll just have to wait and see. They saw the pictures I drew of my companion and our teachers, though, so it might be too late for me to get out of drawing them anything!
Okay so quick funny story that some Spanish speakers might giggle at. We were practicing in class how to invite an investigator to pray when they didn´t want to, and I was paired up with Elder Brower. He doesn´t no very much Spanish, and he´s kind of a goofy, loud person. Anyway, he gets to a point in his lesson where he asks for us to offer the prayer. Sticking true to my character, I reply, “Si, ¿usted offre la oración?” To which he points at me and loudly proclaims, “NO, yo offre ….WAIT!”. I just about died laughing! For those of you not fluent in Spanish, “yo” is the pronoun for “I” and “usted” is the formal pronoun for “you”. He became so confused after that incident that he wasn´t sure which pronoun to use, and it really threw him off. My laughing at him didn´t really help, either.
My scriptural thought this week is Jacob chapter 5. I read this scripture the other day and I´ve had in my mind ever since. It´s the parable of the master of the vineyard. It kept reminding me aobut how much Heavenly Father loves His children and dearly wants us to return to Him. In Spanish, the very first phrase we learn is ” Dios nos ama”, and I don´t think we learn it so quickly just because it´s simple to remember. Heavenly Father loves us more than we can possibly comprehend, and it´s because of that love that we are here today.
I love you all so much and I hope to hear from you all soon!
Love,
Hermana Ius
Note from Savannah: Hermana Ius’s district has changed, she’s in 10c now. If you’re planning on writing her keep that in mind (the address on the blog will be updated too…when she remembers to send me the password to do so).  
Pictures!
img_01681img_01741img_01861img_01881img_01951img_01981
Leave a Reply

